Nothing is more real than
a young girl's dreams.

Audrey likes computers, television, and all of the latest styles. Great Aunt Virginia lives in a minuscule apartment stuffed with antique books and dolls, and her coffee table holds an ancient, formal child's tea set. Yet when a friend needs help, Great Aunt Virginia's magic tea set carries her and Audrey to the land of Arcadia where dolls are real and alive.

Dreams are the doors to worlds within our hearts.

To save their friend, Great Aunt Virginia teaches Audrey magic jump-rope chants; as Audrey recites the secret rhymes, reality changes with each flip of her gold-glittering jump-rope. Slowly Audrey learns the chants that give her unlimited power in Arcadia and the real world ... and the responsibility that comes with wielding power.

A terrible new threat must be faced in Arcadia: the baby dolls have vanished, squads of tin soldiers have been attacked, and the paper dolls, marionettes, and hand puppets are helpless. Three mysterious, powerful enemies have united to enslave the dolls, but the greatest danger of all is balancing the needs of the magical world with the demands of Audrey's real life. Magical challenges in both worlds force Audrey to risk everything to win the lives of those she loves.

"It started almost three hundred years ago: Great Grandma Annie was married at fourteen to a much older man, a very rich man, but also a very cruel man. Annie's Great Aunt Agatha gave her a child's tea set for a wedding present. Great Aunt Agatha promised Annie that, as long as she believed, her tea set would let her escape whenever her hardships grew too great."

(The Magic of Play contains mild violence and early-teenage themes,
similar to "A Wrinkle in Time",
appropriate for very young readers and reading to small children,
with language tailored to increase a child's vocabulary.)